Resistance 101

“Mommy, I have a question: Are kids required to watch the inauguration at school?”

“A teacher can choose to show it to students. But, no. No one is required to watch it. Why do you ask?”

“I didn’t want to watch it. I told the counselor I have enough to worry about in life. I don’t need to watch that man.”

“So, did the class watch it?”

“Yes, but I didn’t.”

“So what did you do instead?”

“I read a book in the hallway.”

“Were you okay with that?”

“Yeah, that’s what I asked for. That’s what I wanted to do.”

“Do you know that what you did was an act of protest?”

“No. I just knew that wasn’t the right thing for me.”

“And you spoke up. And acted. That’s what it means to protest. I’m really proud of you, Daniel.”

“Okay. Can I please have the iPad now?”

Please, leave a reply.

