L Train to Resistance

Took the L train to resistance tonight. Reminded me of that other response to that other act of hate. How many rallies, vigils, and marches until there is a revolution? In all seriousness, though, how are we not all out on the streets shutting all this shit down? What will it take?

Mother. Teach. Resist.

Forgive me, Imani, for leaving tonight.

Forgive me for spending so few minutes lying beside you, my palm resting gently on your burning chest.

Forgive me for not being able to slow down, with my touch, or my own even breathing, the fierce beating of your heart, trapped in an abode on fire.

Forgive me for not delivering the inspirational speech I had recited to you in my mind on the train ride from work, about how important it was for me to stand with our Muslim brothers and sisters.

Forgive me for only saying that I was going to meet your friend from preschool, who is walking this evening’s march, so that her grandparents will be allowed to come to America, to see their grandchildren grow, to love and nurture them.

Forgive me for only saying that daddy would take good care of you, when I had meant to…

View original post 164 more words

Please, leave a reply.

